The E-asean Framework Agreement

In Singapore on November 24, 2000, during an informal summit, several Asian countries (referred to as “ASEAN”) signed a framework agreement entitled the E-ASEAN Framework Agreement (“EAFA”) in order to foster the development of Information and Communication Technologies (“ICT”) among the signatories and to develop ASEAN’s competence to compete in the world market.

The following questions have been addressed in this article:

Who are the signatories of the EAFA?
What measures are covered by the EAFA?
How can the EAFA facilitate the establishment of an information infrastructure in ASEAN?
How can the EAFA facilitate the growth of e-commerce in ASEAN?
Who is in charge of implementing the EAFA?


Facebook Twitter RSS