Eu Topic: Information Society And The Enlargement Debate

The “Enlargement” is a crucial notion for the future of Europe since it deals with the accession of the Candidate countries to the European Community. The upcoming Enlargement, which will be the fifth in the history of the European Union, is the Union's largest-ever undertaking, and presents many substantial challenges. 13 countries are waiting to join the European Union: 10 Central and Eastern European countries - Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Romania, Slovenia and Slovakia - and three Mediterranean countries: Cyprus, Malta and Turkey. Negotiations have begun with the first twelve, and it has been recognized that Turkey's ultimate future is bound up with the European Union. Information on candidate countries is available at:


Facebook Twitter RSS